LAE4342 Reflection

Before I start, I just wanna say I’m gonna miss this class. You all were awesome people.

  • What did you learn about yourself as a writer?

I learned that you should just write. Keep writing no matter what. You can even draw pictures along with your writing to create a little book. There was a quote I was gonna put here but I can’t find it. It’s not the exact quote I was looking for, but it’s pretty close to it.

beverlycleary

  • What did you learn about digital writing or being a member of a digital writing community?

Digital writing is a great way to publish, collaborate and share your own writing. There’s so many great resources out there that can enable students to do this. Part of the reason why I like blogging is because we can share 30+ blogs on one page. We can provide feedback and even repost to a bigger audience. I can even see my students blogging outside of what’s required for an assignment. Giving them the choice for free write on their blogs can be a great way to jump start their interest in blogging.

  • What lessons can you take to your classroom or share with future teachers about integrating blogging into instruction?

Like I said in the previous question, I would definitely consider using blogging in my classroom. I might even consider vlogging occasionally. It allows students to use their creativity in their writing. They can add visual and auditory elements to supplement their writing.

  • Challenges?

I didn’t really have any challenges. I enjoyed blogging. I thought the free writes were a great idea to get students engaged. Even the ones where we had to respond to particular posts were very thought provoking. Maybe the one small challenge that I had was commenting on my accountiblity partner’s post. She always posted after me so it was difficult to remind myself to comment on her’s.

  • Successes?

I can not emphasize enough how much I enjoyed the free writes. I was really proud of the post I did for my anthology (The Mickey’s Not So Scary Halloween Party Review). I started a travel blog for the theme parks and it was great practice for my future posts.

3 thoughts on “LAE4342 Reflection

  1. I think you might have been looking for this quote by Toni Morrison-If there’s a book you really want to read, but it hasn’t been written yet, then you must write it. Cleary says it well too. I am glad that you went back to your accountability partner. I find as a reader and teacher that I like reading the open posts and the reflective posts best. Send us the link to your travel blog! So exciting. To better follow your accountability partner if you followed them, then you would get a notification when they posts. Thanks for helping me think of that.

    Like

  2. Chelsea, I loved the Beverly Cleary quote! I can’t wait to embrace digital writing in my own classroom like we have this semester! I’m going to miss having you in my class but I’m so ready to celebrate graduation with you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

